Sunday, April 10, 2011

Merial Announces Deadline for 2011 Applied Equine Research Award Nominations

Merial has announced that nominations may be submitted for the 2011 Merial Applied Equine Research Award. The award recognizes outstanding research conducted in a specific field of applied equine science over the past five years. The 2011 award will honor advances in pain management of horses.

The winner will be recognized during the 12th WEVA Congress in Hyderabad, India, to be held November 2 –5, 2011. The recipient will be awarded a plaque and a $6,000 (U.S.) award, plus a $1000 contribution to travel costs. He or she will be invited to present an oral and written summary of their work to the Congress.

Award Guidelines

National equine veterinary practitioner associations and individual members of those organizations can submit a nomination. Nominees do not have to be members of the nominating association, nor do they have to be of the same nationality or live in the country from which the nomination stems.

Nominations should be comprised of the following contents:
  •  A brief (not more than one page) cover letter from the nominator. This should include the candidate’s name, address, telephone, e-mail address, fax number (if required), and a listing/summary of his/her current and past positions of employment.
  • One-page listing the candidate’s major scientific publications from 2006 to 2010 (inclusive).
  • One-page narrative of the scientific basis for this nomination. For example: for what advances in the management and treatment of pain in horses has this candidate been responsible within the last five years, and why are they noteworthy?
An international panel will select the award recipient.

Nominations should be submitted electronically to:

David R. Hodgson, Professor and Head of Department

Department of Large Animal Clinical Sciences
VA-MD Regional College of Veterinary Medicine

Virginia Tech
Duck Pond Drive (0442)
Blacksburg, Virginia 24061
(540) 231-7666

The deadline for submissions is May 1, 2011.